top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNine A.M.

Never Be the Smartest Person in the Room. Instead, Be A Sponge.

Updated: Dec 19, 2018

Career Development is something that cannot be done overnight. Even if you have been in your industry for ten years, you will always have to keep evolving in one way or another.


Technology evolves, new positions are created, and some positions become extinct. There is new software that has been developed and certifications that need to be achieved. A great example would be the evolution of social media. I remember being in college when Instagram was just being incorporated into the classroom. We used it with presenting our projects, marketing aspects for the different events we produced, and for market research. At first, I did not understand it. I thought it was one of those fads that would blow over after three months or so. But I was wrong. Social Media is a big contributor to every industry. Social Media is a great marketing tool, whether you are starting your own business, consultation practice, or even if you are an international chain. Social Media has created many jobs over the last decade, such as "Social Media Manager" or "Social Media Strategist". About ten years ago, there was no such thing. As you evolve in your career, keep in mind that the industry is also revolutionizing itself. You must too. You must always evolve yourself for your own personal and professional goals.


A key trait to always have as you develop in your career no matter what industry you may be in is to be a sponge. Whether you are in an entry-level position or management, be a sponge. Always absorb what is out there. Always keep learning. Learn from your mistakes and successes. Learn from your colleagues, your clients, your students, and your professors. Learn from strangers in networking events and find ways to always be open to new ideas. Read articles, follow other social media influencers or similar companies that inspire you. If you find yourself in an interview and are asked one of your best traits, say you are someone is willing to learn about the company and will provide growth as well. Companies do not want to hire someone who is complacent. Be a sponge.


In your career, keep advancing yourself. Also, be open to positions that you may not have thought of. I never dreamed of even managing social media in my lifetime and because of society, the industry I was evolved in, and my passion for creativity, I found myself managing social media in multiple industries. Did I ever imagine myself taking selfies or pictures on my phone daily and creating hashtags at work? No. I had to evolve in my industry, evolve in every position I was in and be open to alternative positions and industries.


If you find yourself not wanting to evolve, then you may find that you no longer find intent in your current position. There was a time, where I no longer wanted to keep learning because I was no longer inspired. I felt that despite learning new software or attending different classes at my workplace offered, I did not feel inclined to learn because I no longer had a purpose in my position. I can learn all the new data, the new software and attend workshops, but I was not absorbing anything.


If you are experiencing the same dilemma, take a moment to pause, (like I always say). Do you no longer find purpose in your job? If so, then you must have outgrown that position, that industry, and that company. It is your time to evolve somewhere else where you feel inspired to evolve and to be a sponge. I did that a few years ago. I switched to a different industry, a new position and even a new city. At this point in my career, I have never felt more inspired with a whole new perspective on my intent in my career. I heard Taylor Swift say in an interview, "If you are the smartest person in the room, then you are in the wrong room." I will always take that quote with me wherever I go. This is an essential method of thought to carry with you as you progress in your career. If you are suddenly finding yourself to be the smartest person in the office because you are the most experienced employee, you will later find yourself no longer inspired. You will start to feel robotic, stuck, complacent. You feel that even if you attend different workshops, seminars or networking events, you find yourself out of place. If you find that your surroundings aren't growing, then you should first start to reinvent yourself. Once you have reached the point of evolution, and feel you have outgrown that work environment, you are in the wrong room. Find a new one with different individuals who will challenge you and inspire you.


Be a sponge. Challenge yourself. Keep Evolving.


It's 9 am. Coffee, Tea or Snooze?

To keep in touch with Lucy or to read more blog posts and articles, visit and connect with her on LinkedIn.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page