top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNine A.M.

So you got a Baby Face: Gift or Curse in a Corporate World?

Updated: Dec 10, 2018


You are fresh out of college and started your first job. Or maybe you just transferred to a new corporate setting with the majority of the team twice your age. Did you feel like people were judging you on your first day? They say don't judge a book by a cover right? Wrong. Let's keep it 100%. In the real world, you will be judged. If you are fresh out of college or even a new member of the team, from day one, people will judge your choices, your wardrobe, how you speak and even your mannerisms. They will treat you like you are beneath them. They want to test you and your limits. Sad, but true.


One of the biggest accomplishments in my early 20's was being one of the youngest and female managers of the team. But when I first started as a coordinator, one of the first things I noticed on my first day, was that the majority of the managers were men in their late 30s to '50s all dressed in suit and ties. There were hardly any female managers. It's very hard to be taken seriously among this group of experienced corporate groomed male managers and directors when you are a new young female with a baby face. Even when I was later promoted to a managerial role, I still had a lot to prove. It was like working double time. Everyone knew I was a hard worker as a coordinator but I was still being judged in my new managerial role. I felt like I was under a microscope every single second of every single day. Even when I met with clients or networked with other professionals, they would expect an older male working in the industry for 20 years, they never would expect to see a young female who could be mistaken for a new high school graduate but dressed in a professional suit. I dressed professionally every day, spoke maturely and professionally and went into every meeting with confidence and prepared. When you appear youthful, people will automatically correlate your youthful face with inexperience. The majority will not take you seriously, think you have a lack of working experience or a lack of insightful ideas. Sounds like a bummer right?


Do not let this discourage you. Who cares if you have a baby face or not? The one advice I give to anyone with this beautiful curse (or gift) or to anyone who may lack confidence when starting a new job is to ARRIVE. The moment you walk through that door to the interview or that staff meeting, the moment you open your mouth, the way you carry yourself with how you dress and how you speak. Just because you got good genes, doesn't mean you should be punished for it! Carry yourself professionally in any and every way. Learn to carry yourself with a poise even when you do feel the pressure or having a stressful day. Never let them see you sweat. You studied hard in college to get a wonderful educational foundation, your internship prepared you for this working environment, and your previous work experience molded you into the professional that you are today. They wouldn't have hired you if you were not qualified. Remind yourself that you are qualified to be there. You belong there. In my personal experience, my appearance alone could mistake me for an intern or a student, but when I ARRIVE and I own who I am, it changes the perspective of the person I am meeting. I know I am qualified to be there with my experience and the work ethic that has to lead me to that moment in time. As my mama always says: "own it". Own your talent, your professionalism, and your brilliant ideas. Once I let go of the fear of others perception of me and focus on the work itself, I clear away any cloud of doubts new colleagues and clients have of me with my consistent and professional work ethic from the moment we shake hands to the moment I execute their project or event.


So for all my friends that have a baby face, do not worry. People will judge, let them. Just showcase your hard work, your talent and that brilliant brain of yours. Actions speak louder than words. The integrity in your work will translate by itself. Don't ever forget that.


PRO TIP: Just because you have a baby face, doesn't mean you should skip out on SPF or moisturizer. Let's protect that youthful glow of yours. That glow is money, baby doll. Don't forget to invest in a good moisturizer.


It's 9 am again. Coffee, Tea, or Snooze? I think it's time for some donuts.

To keep in touch with Lucy or to read more blog posts and articles, visit and connect with her on LinkedIn.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page